Lesson to be Learned

Standard

Hello all,
I apologize for my long absences from posting. As Amber stated in a recent post, we are now much closer to each other. That is a result of my relocation to the city where I had been working on a contract basis. Major changes in Mister B’s life, I am now divorced and making a new house feel like a home. I shall not burden you with all of the details. One important thing to know is that I was feeling very much out of place. None of my old routines survived. I had a burning need to have a night that felt like my old life.
One thing I derive great pleasure from is creating a good dining experience. Nothing fancy, good wholesome food presented with a good balance of flavor and color. It gives me a sense of accomplishment to manage the different prep times and cook times to have everything meet on the plate at its height of flavor and appeal. Yes I am a control freak!
So I convinced Amber that she should forego her usual Friday routine to come and experience a meal at “Chez Brian”. A local market had wild caught salmon on sale. I had recently discovered a stash of 2009 Merlot from South Africa that was absolutely wonderful. My staple starch with salmon is most always steamed rice. All that pink and white needs a vibrant green to balance the plate. Keeping it simple, I picked up some snow peas that I would blanch and then sauté in olive oil. While at the market, I grabbed a small bouquet of flowers to dress the table.
One of my idiosyncrasies is that I do not like dining under harsh light. Maybe my military dining hall days, or a deep seated romantic streak, but I like to have soft indirect lighting during my evening meal. My new home offers only an overhead light without a dimmer so I pulled out the candles. A cluster of votive candles on the kitchen counter and two taper candles on the table gave the prefect lighting for the meal.
Amber and I had a lovely meal, great conversation and connected on a level we never had before. She shared with me that she found the meal and the presentation to be very special.
And it meant a great deal to her. Folks, I had been preparing and presenting this sort of meal for the past 8 years to my now ex-wife. I never got this appreciation for the effort. Yes when we were dating she would complement my effort. But in the last 8 years, it became expected.
True Amber and I are in the dating phase still. And I really enjoy creating in the kitchen, so it is not that much effort for me. But let’s consider what things get taken for granted as our relationships grow. Men, do you kiss your lover after a great blowjob and tell her/him how much you enjoyed it? If your partner enjoys anal sex as much as you, is that anal sex still not a premium since not all lovers enjoy it? Let them know you relish the things they do that you enjoy. Ladies, after 20 minutes of toe curling orgasms, I know you are off in a different cosmos, but sometime in the next hour or so, stroke your mates face and share how lucky you are.
In closing, even if your partner loves doing what you love receiving, let them know you love it and that you appreciate it.
If you want to read more about the meal prep just ask.
Have any of you ever sautéed chopped Brussels sprouts in olive oil with garlic and fresh ground black pepper? OMG not the slimy “Martian Heads” your mom used to force you to eat!

Leave a Reply

